Skip to Content

HMC ICM/MCM Information

Harvey Mudd College fields teams for the annual Interdisciplinary Contest in Modeling (ICM) and the Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM).

Important Times and Dates

The contest runs from 5:00 PM PST on Thursday, January 28, 2016 (8:00 PM EST), through 6:00 PM PST on Monday, February 1, 2016 (9:00 PM EST).

Rooms in use by contest participants will be reserved for their use.

Important Links

LaTeX Document Class for Preparing Your Report

We provide a LaTeX class for typesetting your solutions to the MCM or ICM problems. If you're using one of the mathematics department's Linux systems, the icmmcm class file will be in TeX's path. If you're using another system, you can get the files in .ZIP or tar.gz format from the project's Github repository.)

You will want to copy the blank-template.tex file to your working directory and edit it to reflect your team's number (assigned by the contest administrators) and the letter of the problem you're working on. (In 2016, A, B, or C for MCM; D, E, or F for ICM, but you should check the MCM site to make sure you have the right letter and contest name

If you have a chance beforehand, you might want to try typesetting the icmmcm-sample.tex file so you can see what the report will look like.

Important Note on Submissions

Be sure not to mention your names, the name of your advisor(s), or the name of your school anywhere in your report. If you do, your team will be disqualified!