Mathematics Faculty at HMC

Click for larger image. 2013 departmental retreat.

General Contact InformationOffice Map

Benjamin thumbnail Arthur T. Benjamin
Smallwood Family Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University
Research Interests: Combinatorics, game theory, operations research
Shanahan 2414 • telephone 18688/(909) 621-8688 • email benjamin@math.hmc.edu
Bernoff thumbnail Andrew J. Bernoff
Professor of Mathematics
Kenneth and Diana Jonsson Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Cambridge University
Research Interests: Applied Dynamical Systems, Fluid Mechanics, Self-Similarity and Scaling
Shanahan 3410 • telephone 18687/(909) 621-8687 • email ajb@math.hmc.edu
Castro thumbnail Alfonso Castro (on sabbatical 2016–2017)
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Research Interests: Partial differential equations, variational methods, inverse-function theorems, water waves (solitons)
Shanahan 3422 • telephone 73171/(909) 607-3171 • email castro@math.hmc.edu
Depillis thumbnail Lisette G. de Pillis
Chair of the Department of Mathematics (2014–)
Norman F. Sprague, Jr., Professor of Life Sciences
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Research Interests: Computational fluid dynamics, numerical linear algebra, mathematical biology
Shanahan 3426 • telephone 18975/(909) 621-8975 • email depillis@math.hmc.edu
Gu thumbnail Weiqing Gu
Avery Professor of Mathematics
Director of the Mathematics Clinic
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Research Interests: Differential geometry, Grassmann manifolds
Shanahan 3420 • telephone 18929/(909) 621-8929 • email gu@math.hmc.edu
Jacobsen thumbnail Jon Jacobsen
Professor of Mathematics
Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
Ph.D., University of Utah
Research Interests: Nonlinear analysis, differential and integral equations, mathematical ecology
Shanahan 3424 • telephone 77690/(909) 607-7690 • email jacobsen@math.hmc.edu
Karp thumbnail Dagan Karp
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Associate Department Chair
Ph.D., University of British Columbia
Research Interests: Algebraic geometry
Shanahan 3414 • telephone 71264/(909) 607-1264 • email dk@math.hmc.edu
kkozai thumbnail Kenji Kozai (2008)
Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Stanford University
Research Interests: low dimensional topology, geometric topology
Shanahan 2406 • telephone 71560/(909) 607-1560 • email kkozai@math.hmc.edu
llazarus thumbnail Lauren Lazarus
Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Cornell University
Research Interests: Ordinary and delay differential equations, applied dynamical systems, coupled oscillator systems
Shanahan 2424 • telephone 18896/(909) 621-8896 • email llazarus@math.hmc.edu
Levy thumbnail Rachel Levy
Professor of Mathematics
Associate Dean for Faculty Development
Ph.D., North Carolina State University
Research Interests: Thin films with surfactant, hydrodynamics of whale flukeprints, cooperative strategies for aquatic robotics
Shanahan 2416 • telephone 76019/(909) 607-6019 • email levy@math.hmc.edu
Martonosi thumbnail Susan Martonosi
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Joseph B. Platt Professor for Teaching Excellence
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Research Interests: Operations research, applied probability, aviation security
Shanahan 2420 • telephone 70481/(909) 607-0481 • email martonosi@math.hmc.edu
Omar thumbnail Mohamed Omar
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., UC-Davis
Research Interests: Algebraic methods in graph theory and discrete/combinatorial optimization
Shanahan 2418 • telephone 72177/(909) 607-2177 • email omar@math.hmc.edu
Orrison thumbnail Michael E. Orrison
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Dartmouth College
Research Interests: Harmonic analysis on finite groups, algebraic voting theory
Shanahan 3412 • telephone 79709/(909) 607-9709 • email orrison@math.hmc.edu
Pippenger thumbnail Nicholas J. Pippenger
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Research Interests: Discrete mathematics, probability, and applications to communications and computation
Shanahan 2408 • telephone 71114/(909) 607-1114 • email njp@math.hmc.edu
bshtylla thumbnail Blerta Shtylla
Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Utah
Research Interests:
Shanahan 2424 • telephone 73357/(909) 607-3357 • email bshtylla@math.hmc.edu
Su thumbnail Francis Edward Su
Benediktsson-Karwa Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Harvard University
Research Interests: Geometric and topological combinatorics, game theory, mathematical economics
Shanahan 3416 • telephone 73616/(909) 607-3616 • email su@math.hmc.edu
bthompson thumbnail Bianca Thompson
Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa
Research Interests:
Shanahan 2406 • telephone 71560/(909) 607-1560 • email bthompson@math.hmc.edu
Williams thumbnail Talithia Williams
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Rice University
Research Interests: Spatial–temporal modeling of rainfall data
Shanahan 2412 • telephone 71262/(909) 607-1262 • email twilliams@math.hmc.edu
Yong thumbnail Darryl Yong ('96) (on sabbatical 2016–2017)
Professor of Mathematics
Associate Dean for Diversity
Ph.D., University of Washington, Seattle, Washington
Research Interests: Mathematics education, applied mathematics, perturbation theory, partial differential equations
Shanahan 2410 • telephone 72844/(909) 607-2844 • email dyong@math.hmc.edu